not long to go now.

I wonder how many times that has been said to me in the past couple of weeks (well, months, really) – I’ve lost count!

I’m generally not nervous about the wedding, but whenever someone says “not long to go now!” I feel a flutter in my stomach, my eyes widen a little, and a nervous smile appears, along with a lame response of “mmm yes!”.

I’m not nervous about the getting married part. I am SO sure about marrying the Groom and spending my life with him.

Things that make me feel a little bit nervous are…

Being the centre of attention, especially reading our vows aloud. I hate speaking in front of a group, my voice quavers, and 101 is a huge group, even if they are our family and friends. I also find it a bit stressful being the host and ‘guest of honour’ (from past party experiences); it’s hard trying to spend enough time with each of your guests.

I want everyone to have an awesome time. I care what people think. I wish I didn’t so much though. I wonder if there will be negative thoughts, like ‘wow, her arms look big, check out those guns’, ‘I’m bored’, or ‘lentils?!’. I know these are silly things to think, I need to stop!

For the few nervous thoughts though, there are so many things I am looking forward to… I can’t wait to be married to the Groom, to be husband and wife. It still blows my mind when I think about it. I can’t wait to share the day with our family and friends, to celebrate love, and all that nice stuff. And I can’t wait for our honeymoon, to relax and enjoy ourselves, to bask in our newlywed-ness (“Just Married” bikini and towel, anyone? Haha 😉 )!

The greatest thing you’ll ever learn, is just to love and be loved in return – Eden Ahbez, Nature Boy

11 Comments

Filed under Musings

11 responses to “not long to go now.

  1. Aly

    I understand the attention part all too well – that’s the bit me & the boy are struggling with ALREADY! Deep breaths.. no doubt you’ll be so filled with love and snuggly thoughts that you’ll forget all about your worries. xx

  2. Stop thinking about those things IMMEDIATELY. they take up too much negative head space and you don’t need to waste your energy on thinking about them!

    Don’t stress about spending time with people either because it simply won’t be possible and everybody will understand that. 🙂

    • Ok! I don’t want to think negatively in any way! 😀
      I hope people will understand that. That was one of the more stressful parts of the engagement party – trying to spend time talking with as many people as possible!

  3. It’s so exciting! 🙂 I know what you mean but enjoy every minute. The day goes so quickly! 🙂

  4. Hi Chanel,

    It’s your photographer (or should I say “second-photographer) here. I’ve been “stalking” your blog for awhile now LOL 🙂

    I’ve loved reading your entries and hearing about all your wedding plans. I’m really excited about your wedding!! You have done an amazing job with the planning and thumbs up from me for all your choices. It’s going to be an AMAZING wedding!!

    And if it helps ease your mind, I can assure you that with Andrew by your side all day you will be fine. He has an uncanny knack to relax brides whatever might be going on, and sort out any problems that arise. I’m still amazed by him every week.

    Oh and course I will be there too:)

    So on the day, just relax & enjoy the moment.

    See you soon,
    Sarah:)

  5. Hi Sarah!

    Thank you for your comment! I’m glad you’re excited too 😀
    I do feel great knowing we’ll have yourself and Andrew there taking awesome photos!

    See you soon! 🙂

  6. Natalie

    Arrrrggghh! Yes, I know. Well, “not long now” for both of us.

    I too worry too much about what people will think, when really it should just be most important that we have a wonderful day. Just keep reminding yourself of that.

    I am not so bothered about the people there – we only have 62. I’m even planning on giving a speech, although I’ll probably start sobbing & make an idiot of myself.

    • That’s so lovely that you’re giving a speech! I’d be a mess, I can’t stand public speaking of any form (even if it is in front of a room of friends) 🙂

  7. Pingback: nerves? what nerves. «

Leave a Reply

