details vs the big picture.

I’m very much a detail-oriented person. This is a good thing, in my opinion, but it can also cause me to stress over small details and decisions that really don’t matter when you look at the big picture (‘speckled paper or plain paper?!’). The Groom is a big-picture person. I think it’s a very good thing that we’re complementary opposites (or Yin/Yang you might say).

The Groom’s ring arrived from Etsy during the week. My first thoughts were “oh no, it doesn’t look like the picture, it’s kind of… shimmery!”. After drilling him several times (“are you sure you like it? what do you like about it? is there anything you don’t like? what about the inlay?”) I was finally given an answer longer than one word.

“YES! I like it! It’s not just about the ring anyway. It’s the commitment that goes with it!” he said.

Well then! Truer words could not have been spoken 😉

3 Comments

Filed under Etsy, Musings, Rings

3 responses to “details vs the big picture.

  1. Aly

    Very true! I’m details vs J’s big picture. It tends to work that way. 🙂 🙂

  2. Details schmetails I say! 😉

  3. Pingback: DIY. «

Leave a Reply

