peek-a-boo.

We decided many months ago that we would do a “first look” on our wedding day. A first look is when the bride and groom do the non-traditional thing of seeing each other before the ceremony – a private and intimate moment, captured by the photographer.

There are many benefits of having a first look: it can calm any nerves, you have more time between the ceremony and reception (less photos, more mingling), and most importantly, you have a beautifully intimateย moment to get emotional and connect before the ceremony.

Some people really want that first moment of seeing each other when the bride walks down the aisle, so the first look wouldn’t work for them. But I don’t feel that need at all. We’ll probably be spending the night before together anyway, but that’s still under discussion (I’m all for it, the Groom is resisting)!

13 Comments

Filed under Photography

13 responses to “peek-a-boo.

  1. I’m definitely one of the people that wanted the aisle moment. I will never forget that moment and it still makes my heart flutter when I think of it now – the look on his face and seeing the tears in his eyes and him whispering how beautiful I looked when I got to him… really a nice feeling. But I can see how this would also evoke the same feeling! I don’t think it made us connect any less though to be honest!

  2. What a great idea! I really like that idea and you can really talk to each other rather than seeing each other down the aisle!

  3. Amy

    We are also first-lookers. I personally think it’s the greatest idea ever… although I do understand why some people would rather wait until the aisle moment.
    I hope your first look moment is magical (I’m sure it will be)!

    • Thanks Amy! I hope yours is too ๐Ÿ™‚ I can see the positives for both first-look and aisle moment, they’d both be wonderful, but the first-look is definitely for us ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. Reezy

    That sounds like such a beautiful moment.

    I was that excited to see future hubby I was talking to him whilst the celebrant was doing her spiel โ€“ I couldnโ€™t for the life of me tell you what she was saying. The next thing i knew i was saying my vows.. Lol :S

    Enjoy your first look, tradition-smagition!

  5. Long time reader, first time poster ๐Ÿ™‚

    I never even knew people did this! How incredibly romantic, the pics above made me teary. I hope your first-look moment is beautiful, I’m sure it will be.

  6. WOO HOO!! We are so mega excited you guys decided to go with a first look. They are seriously the most romantic and emotional images we ever get from a wedding. We love them!!!

    Plus having a first look always makes a wedding day run much better…imo.

    Not long now ๐Ÿ™‚

    Sarah

  7. Pingback: our first look. «

Leave a Reply

