the transporter.

There is one wedding tradition I have no interest in (along with the garter and bouquet tosses that is). In fact I’ve always found it a little odd…

Wedding cars.

Maybe it’s because I don’t drive, I don’t have my licence at all, and I’ve driven a car twice, for about 5 minutes (when I had my learner licence). So since I have no interest in cars, or taking photos with a car (that’s the part I find a little odd… pimp my ride), ‘wedding cars’ were at the very bottom of the budget prioritising list. Our wedding as a whole is not budget; though we have definitely done certain aspects on the cheap to allow for the reception costs. There was no way I wanted to spent hundreds or more on a couple of cars, especially since our venue is a one minute drive from our accommodation (I timed it). But we still needed a way to travel to the venue…

Our wedding is on the same day as one of the Hunter Valley’s big music festivals – Jazz in the Vines. I was warned that taxis are rare up there, especially with such a big music event on. It would be a nightmare trying to get taxis for our 100 guests at midnight in the country. There is no public transport option. Most guests will be drinking so they wouldn’t be able to drive.

As a courtesy to our guests, and to ensure the beautiful wines are made the most of, we have arranged two 50-seat coaches to transport everyone to and from their various accommodations and our wedding. That’s when I had my brilliant, possibly obvious, idea of getting the coach to the wedding ourselves! We were already paying for them! Huge Budget Win!

So the Groom and his groomsmen are going to catch Coach 1 with our other guests, then after everyone has arrived at the venue it’s going to come back and pick up myself and my bridesmaids. I’ve only had one comment of “the six of you are going to arrive in a 50-seat coach!?” when I’ve been asked about our car arrangements. Damn straight we are! I’m extremely pleased with making double use of the coach! It’s not pretty, but it doesn’t have to be. I suppose my point is, if you’re not into vintage cars, pink stretch hummers, or a horse and carriage, there are other (cheaper) options – such as hiring a nice rental car and having a family member drive it there, which is budget friendly.

We’re not having a getaway car towards the end of the reception (the cans tied to the car, a just married sign… do people do that? Or is that a movie-land thing?). Instead, we’ll all hop back on the now-party bus together, and continue the festivities at the hotel bar (well, our guests probably will… we’ve got a spa suite to make use of!).

12 Comments

Filed under Budget, Ceremony, Reception

12 responses to “the transporter.

  1. Natalie

    Haha – love it! Will your parents also be going with you & your bridesmaids?

    I’m also thrilled that we are not worrying about cars at all. Luckily, I get to walk from the cottage to the aisle … and at the end of the night we both walk back to the cottage. Yay!

    The groom is staying at a hotel about 2 mins drive away the night before – he’ll have my (I guess it’s “our” now) car, as I won’t be needing it. So I said for him & the boys to just come in that – otherwise we’ll have to go fetch the car the next morning! “Oh yeah” he says. I think maybe he should let one of the boys drive though.

    • I hadn’t thought about my parents coming with me (oops!) – thanks for reminding me, I will ask them πŸ˜€

      That’s so convenient that you’re staying at the same venue as the wedding! Technically we could walk back to the hotel since it’s only a minute away, but not in high heels πŸ˜‰

  2. Mardi

    it looks like the van has antennas haha
    i think its a good idea and will be fun for everyone to travel together!!

    also got your email and im glad you liked the cupcakes.
    ‘The Groom’ says you are the cupcake queen!!

  3. … I have a picture on my desk of myself and Justing kissing next to a vintage chevvy with ‘Just Married’ on it… πŸ˜‰

  4. Reezy

    Ha ha! Great idea with arriving in the coach!
    Taxi’s in the Valley are hard to come by on the best of days.. let alone when Jazz is on! (my most favorite day of the year!)
    Our bus dropped us off at the end of the night at Crowne Plaza, was so funny hearing all our guest yelling out the window as it drove off.
    All the best for Saturday! Fingers crossed this horrid weather clears up for you. It has been really fun reading through planning πŸ™‚

    • For a place full of wine, there aren’t many options for not driving!

      Thanks Reezy πŸ™‚ I hope the weather clears up too! I’m seeing unsavoury words like ‘fog, showers, 30 degrees’.

  5. Great idea! I must admit I didn’t really care much for the car. Luckily my uncle had a car that matched the description of a traditional wedding car. Although my cousin drove it and didn’t quite know where he was going! πŸ˜›

  6. Awesomeness! We’ve hired a bus too. We’ll be going separately to the reception venue, but we’ll definitely get the bus back with everyone after it is all over!

Leave a Reply

