back to reality.

The more I think about it, the more I dislike the phrase, ‘back to reality’. I’m hearing it a fair bit recently though, from myself and others.

I went back to work today, after 3.7 weeks off. Reality is not so bad. I was actually kind of looking forward to it this morning, and I’m especially looking forward to getting back into my normal routine. Still, it’s a bit sad now that all the festivities are over. I’ve wondered if I’ll feel that post-wedding ‘what do I do with all my time now?’ sadness. I’ve got a lot to look forward to though, the coming weekends are almost always busy, so I don’t think I will!

Things I’m looking forward to in the near future…

  • Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows tonight
  • One of my bridesmaid’s engagement party this weekend
  • A friend’s wedding in December
  • Muse concert in December
  • Christmas! I’m going to put up our tree next weekend
  • Receiving our wedding photos and choosing an album!

I also have to sort out my dress. When I bought it I thought I’d probably sell it after. I’ve changed my mind. I’m going to keep it. It’s dirty though, from walking through the vineyards and dirt, so I need to get it cleaned. I’ve received a couple of quotes from bridal gown cleaners, and it’s expensive. I thought all my payments were over! Quotes have ranged from $295 to $450. Isn’t that excessive? It’s not beaded, there is no lace, it has minimal structure… I’ll see what a regular dry cleaner quotes. I don’t want to risk it getting ruined by a cheaper place, but I don’t want to leave it dirty.

What did you do with your gown? Did you have it professionally cleaned? And did you experience a post-wedding low?

(And in other news, Prince William & Kate Middleton’s engagement! Aw. I think it’s lovely he gave her Diana’s ring. Already I’ve gone from getting comments of ‘your ring is similar to Princess Diana’s!’ to ‘your ring is similar to Kate’s!’ 😉 )

7 Comments

Filed under Attire, Recaps

7 responses to “back to reality.

  1. Reezy

    I remember the day after our wedding we had a bbq at our place, I was so exhausted and vague but felt as though a weight had been lifted. I loved that we could just be..

    My wedding gown is still hanging up dirty, we’re coming up to our 2 year anniversary ;S. It’s sunray pleated and they wanted to charge me $6 per pleat! That would seriously be close to $600!! I don’t think so.. Mum suggested just dipping it in the bathtub at home, I’m too scared to.

    How was Hungerford Hill? Were you happy with them?

    • Wow that’s expensive! It’s crazy after spending so much on a dress, you’ve then got cleaning bills to consider!

      Hungerford Hill (specifically Muse Restaurant) exceeded our expectations – they were amazing 😀

  2. Bah! Care factor = zero in regards to this royal wedding business! 😉

    As you know, my wedding gown is also still hanging up dirty. Haha! And I felt extreme post wedding lows but that was more so after the album was picked and everything was done. It just felt so FINAL. But I got over it! Haha

  3. Hehe sadly I think dry cleaning is quite expensive for a wedding dress. Mine was pretty clean and they couldn’t get one mark out. I think if you have your own box and acid free tissue paper then it’s cheaper by $50. It never stops does it? 😛

  4. Noddy

    Champies, I got my wedding dress done at Lawrence Drycleaners in Easties. Can’t remember how much it was, maybe $200 or $300 and they put it in a box for you.

Leave a Reply

